sms messaging
NotePage Logo
NotePage Software
NotePage Orders
Download NotePage Software
Integration
Software Solutions
NotePage Support

 SNPP Settings
 WCTP Settings
 TAP Numbers
 SMTP Settings
 PageGate Support
 NotePager Pro Support
 Learning Center
 Support Forum
NotePage Resellers
NotePage Press Releases
 

NotePage Background Graphic

How to Configure the PageGate GUI / Windows Client Video Tutorial

Configure the PageGate Windows GUI Client


Please be patient while the video loads
wmv video format mov video format
itunes feed avi video format

How to Configure the PageGate GUI (Windows) Client Transcript for Video:
Welcome to the video tutorial on how to configure the PageGate Client. In this tutorial, we’ll be going over how to configure the PageGate Client to reference the PageGate Server’s database as well as each of the different configuration options available in the PageGate Client.

Before we begin, it’s important that you install and configure PageGate before attempting the PageGate Client configuration. The PageGate server’s database will need to be shared on the network with any relevant users and workstations granted the read, write and modify permissions to the folder. You’ll also need to install the PageGate Client as well. For more information on that, please see our video tutorial on how to install the PageGate Client.

So, after installing the PageGate Client, the first time you run the program, you’ll want to right click on the program’s shortcut and select ‘Run as Administrator’. If prompted by the UAC, please allow the process to continue.

You’ll then be prompted for the PageGate Client’s setup information. The first field is the Server Database and must reference the path to the PageGate server’s database. If this instance of the client is installed on the server, you can use the local path to the database. If this instance of the client is installed on a workstation, please enter the mapped drive or UNC path to the server’s database.

Next we have ‘Preset Messages File’. If you want this workstation to have its own, unique presets, specify a local path for the file. If you want this workstation to share presets with other workstations, enter the mapped drive or UNC path and file name to the presets file that should be used.

The Sender’s Name field represents who or what sent the message. By default, the client will use the Windows logon name of the user currently logged in to Windows. This can be replaced by a static value.

To configure a display group for a workstation, you must first create a display group on the server. For information about what display groups are and how they function, please see the ‘Display Groups’ section of our documentation.

Station Number provides an identifying number that all traffic sent from this system will have associated with it. Workstations that share a station number will be able to see and report on each other’s messages. Workstations that do not share a station number will only be able to see and report on messages sent from any other workstation.

Update Frequency determines how often, in seconds, this workstation posts information to the server’s database.

Max Message Length determines how many characters can be typed in to the ‘Message Text’ field of the client and limits the maximum size of messages sent from this workstation.

If Microsoft Word is installed, you can check ‘Enable Spell Check’.

And last, we have these two options. If each user that logs in to the workstation should have their own, unique profile for using the client (which can include station number, sender’s name, etc), select ‘Use these settings for current user only’. If all users who log in to this workstation should share a profile, select ‘Use these settings for all local users’

When finished, click Apply.

Now that we’ve configured the client’s basic settings, we can configure its display options. To do so, go under the File menu and select ‘Setup’.

Here in the Setup scree, click ‘Display Options’.

‘Remove Preset Buttons’ will remove this workstation’s ability to see and use the preset messages function.

‘Remove Options Button’ will remove this workstation’s ability to schedule messages.

‘Remove Logs’ will remove this workstation’s ability to run reports or review a history of messages.
‘Remove Help’ will remove the Help menu.

‘Remove Spell Checking’ will disable access to the spell checking feature.

‘Small Recipient Font’ will shrink the font size used in the client.

‘Large Font’ will increase the font size used in the client.

Enabling ‘Failure Warning Popup’ tells the program to pop-up a warning message any time a message fails.

‘Presets Prompting’ does something special. For this setting to function properly, you must first configure a set of preset messages tied to a recipient or group. With this option is enabled, if you click on the name of a recipient or group with preset messages configured for them, a dialog will display all available presets to select. This allows for the quick selection of presets for recipients and groups.

When ‘Confirm on Send’ is enabled, every time the ‘Send’ button is clicked, you will be prompted to confirm the delivery of the message.

When ‘Clear on Send’ is enabled, the ‘Message Text’ and ‘Selected Recipients’ sections of the GUI Client are cleared when the Send button is clicked.

Display group label (G), allows you to specify whether you want the parenthetical (G) that designates a group to appear before or after the group’s name. This can effect sort order in the client.

‘Minimize to’ allows you to specify whether the client should minimize to the task bar, like most programs do, or system tray, here next to the clock in Windows.

After specifying your display options, click Apply, then click Apply again.

This concludes the video tutorial on how to configure the PageGate GUI Client.

PageGate Video Tutorials Additional PageGate Video Tutorials
RSS Feed for Video Tutorials Video RSS Feed

send sms
Copyright 1996-2017 NotePage, Inc. Privacy Policy
Google