NotePage, Inc. Forum Index

Where to find TAP number

 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    NotePage, Inc. Forum Index -> General Questions and Announcements
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
ComaC



Joined: 24 Mar 2008
Posts: 4

PostPosted: Mon Mar 24, 2008 1:42 pm    Post subject: Where to find TAP number Reply with quote

I have a BT landline and O2 Broadband.
NotePager 32 has identified my modem through COM5.
I don't know which number to use for TAP. Can anyone tell me how to find the number I need? I have tried using the British Telecom number provided by the Note Page directory but it doesn't seem to work. Thank you


Back to top
View user's profile
NotePage Sales
Site Admin


Joined: 23 Apr 2004
Posts: 265

PostPosted: Mon Mar 24, 2008 1:52 pm    Post subject: Re: Where to find TAP number Reply with quote

When using a landline and broadband you may want to download a free trial of NotePager Pro software at http://www.notepage.net/software.htm



_________________
NotePage Sales
Back to top
View user's profile Visit poster's website
ComaC



Joined: 24 Mar 2008
Posts: 4

PostPosted: Tue Mar 25, 2008 11:29 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Thanks for your advice. I have downloaded Note Pager Pro and installed to use internet connection. I will be happy to register it if I can achieve success.
I have set the carrier telephone to that of my broadband provider (O2) as shown in the Note Pager directory and set the protocol to TAP.

The following is the outcome:

25/03/2008 15:14:56 ====================================
25/03/2008 15:14:56 Start connection to carrier: O2Internet
25/03/2008 15:14:56 Connect using TAP protocol
25/03/2008 15:14:56 Setting communication parameters
25/03/2008 15:14:56 Sent:AT<CR><LF>
25/03/2008 15:14:57 Attempting to reset modem
25/03/2008 15:15:09 Sent:AT<CR>
25/03/2008 15:15:09 Received:<CR><LF>OK<CR><LF>
25/03/2008 15:15:10 modem reset
25/03/2008 15:15:10 Auto detecting modem init string
25/03/2008 15:15:10 Sent:AT&F0Q0V1X4&D2&B1&K0&M0&N2<CR>
25/03/2008 15:15:14 Received:<CR><LF>ERROR<CR><LF>
25/03/2008 15:15:14 Sent:AT&FQ0V1X4&D2N0+MS=V22,0<CR>
25/03/2008 15:15:15 Received:<CR><LF>OK<CR><LF>
25/03/2008 15:15:15 Attempting to send carrier init string
25/03/2008 15:15:15 Sent:AT&FQ0V1X4&D2N0+MS=V22,0<CR>
25/03/2008 15:15:16 Received:<CR><LF>OK<CR><LF>
25/03/2008 15:15:16 Carrier init string sent
25/03/2008 15:15:16 Dialing carrier
25/03/2008 15:15:16 Sent:ATDT07860980480<CR>
25/03/2008 15:15:24 Waiting for connection
25/03/2008 15:15:25 Received:<CR><LF>NO DIALTONE<CR><LF>
25/03/2008 15:15:25 Unable to connect to carrier
25/03/2008 15:15:25 Attempting to hang up modem
25/03/2008 15:15:32 Sent:AT<CR>
25/03/2008 15:15:33 Received:<CR><LF>OK<CR><LF>
25/03/2008 15:15:33 modem hung up
25/03/2008 15:15:33 Carrier retry limit reached. Marking pending messages as bad
25/03/2008 15:15:33 FAILED To:Contract Frm:Clare Msg:A neew try

Any advice would be very welcome.

Thankyou.


Back to top
View user's profile
Tech Support



Joined: 25 Aug 2003
Posts: 4041

PostPosted: Tue Mar 25, 2008 11:36 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Well, the reason the connection isn't being made is that the modem isn't getting a dial tone. Check the phone line connection between your wall and the modem, make sure that the phone line has a dial tone.



_________________
Tech Support
support@notepage.com
http://www.notepage.net
Back to top
View user's profile
ComaC



Joined: 24 Mar 2008
Posts: 4

PostPosted: Tue Mar 25, 2008 12:10 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Thanks for your help.
My internet connection is through the broadband connection.

There is a dial tone on the phone, but I'm not trying to connect through the dial up modem. Am I? (That is a question, not a smart A remark!)


Back to top
View user's profile
Tech Support



Joined: 25 Aug 2003
Posts: 4041

PostPosted: Tue Mar 25, 2008 12:27 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Ah... the TAP protocol is a modem based protocol, which means it will try to use your phone line.

Try switching the carrier's protocol over to SMTP.

When you do, it'll ask you for a local domain. Your local domain is the latter part of your email address. I would use notepage.com, for example, because my email is support at notepage dot com

Be default, it should be on Deliver Directly and it should auto-detect your primary and secondary DNS.

Now... one thing we haven't established, yet, is who you're trying to deliver to. Are you trying to send to an O2 cel phone?



_________________
Tech Support
support@notepage.com
http://www.notepage.net
Back to top
View user's profile
ComaC



Joined: 24 Mar 2008
Posts: 4

PostPosted: Mon Mar 31, 2008 1:55 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Thank you for your advice. I've been busy with other work and haven't been able to try it. Sorry for the delay replying to you.

I've edited the carrier and blanked the ip addresses.

Like this:

Carrier: O2Internet --------the name given at carrier setup
Protocol: SMTP
Max Chars: 240
Local Domain: o2.co.uk
Deliver directly to destination server is selected
DNS Server 1 : left blank or with default 0.0.0.0
DNS Server 2 : left blank or with default 0.0.0.0

Deliver through local email server is not selected

I am trying to send a message to my own o2 mobile phone.

I get this result:

31/03/2008 19:51:56 ====================================
31/03/2008 19:51:56 Start connection to carrier: O2Internet
31/03/2008 19:51:56 Sending via SMTP
31/03/2008 19:51:56 ------------------------------------------------
31/03/2008 19:51:56 Working on message to: Contract from: Clare
31/03/2008 19:51:56 Formatting message
31/03/2008 19:51:56 Message contained in single packet
31/03/2008 19:51:56 Looking up mailserver for
31/03/2008 19:51:56 Trying host:
31/03/2008 19:52:11 Connected to:
31/03/2008 19:52:11 Disconnected
31/03/2008 19:52:11 Message not accepted
31/03/2008 19:52:11 Message retry limit reached
31/03/2008 19:52:11 FAILED To:Contract Frm:Clare Msg:Sample Message?
31/03/2008 19:52:11 Carrier retry limit reached. Marking pending messages as bad

Can you help any more?

Thanking you in anticipation.

Colin


Back to top
View user's profile
Tech Support



Joined: 25 Aug 2003
Posts: 4041

PostPosted: Mon Mar 31, 2008 2:19 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

You will need to fill in values for at least the first DNS entry. You should be able to get the DNS values from your networking guys or your ISP.

What kind of device are you trying to send messages to (i.e. phone, pager, etc.)? Who is the provider for that device?



_________________
Tech Support
support@notepage.com
http://www.notepage.net
Back to top
View user's profile
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic    NotePage, Inc. Forum Index -> General Questions and Announcements All times are GMT - 5 Hours
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2002 phpBB Group
Theme created by Vjacheslav Trushkin