NotePage, Inc. Forum Index

Can Ver7 database run on Ver8?
Goto page 1, 2  Next
 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    NotePage, Inc. Forum Index -> PageGate Support
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
mwaters



Joined: 23 May 2013
Posts: 26

PostPosted: Tue Dec 03, 2019 9:53 am    Post subject: Can Ver7 database run on Ver8? Reply with quote

I have a production database in a server with version 7. We are standing up a version 8 server but need the config from the version 7 server. Will the DB from version 7 work on a version 8 server? There are differences in the way the email and stuff is configured and my first time trying this was unsuccessful.


Back to top
View user's profile
Tech Support



Joined: 25 Aug 2003
Posts: 4218

PostPosted: Tue Dec 03, 2019 11:08 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

You can, though you'll want to copy the database in its entirety and let version 8 convert it. Here's how:

1) Make sure PG Admin, PG Client and all PG services are stopped on the v8 server.

2) Make a copy of the version 7 server's database (by default, c:\PageGateData\Database\pagegate.mdb)

3) Paste that in to the version 8 server's database directory and overwrite the existing file.

4) Run PG Admin.

5) Say yes, you would like to convert the database.

6) Provide the version 8 registration key when prompted.

If you run in to any other difficulties or need more information, please let us know and we'll be happy to help.



_________________
Tech Support
support@notepage.com
http://www.notepage.net
Back to top
View user's profile
mwaters



Joined: 23 May 2013
Posts: 26

PostPosted: Tue Dec 03, 2019 11:55 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

There will be some differences we'll need to make between the two versions. Things like the Com port used (Version 7 is a virtual machine), Some carriers are no longer used and other little things.

I'll try what you say and report back if I need additional help.


Back to top
View user's profile
Tech Support



Joined: 25 Aug 2003
Posts: 4218

PostPosted: Tue Dec 03, 2019 11:58 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

If you need any assistance with the configuration, please let us know.



_________________
Tech Support
support@notepage.com
http://www.notepage.net
Back to top
View user's profile
mwaters



Joined: 23 May 2013
Posts: 26

PostPosted: Tue Dec 03, 2019 4:45 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

After I run I run the convert, it opens up the registration which is showing my Version 7 info. We have new info for the version 8.


Back to top
View user's profile
Tech Support



Joined: 25 Aug 2003
Posts: 4218

PostPosted: Tue Dec 03, 2019 4:47 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

You'll want to update the information in the registration section to match your PageGate version 8 registration key. Typically speaking, only the 'Registration Number' will change but if your name, company name or address have been updated, please use the new information as the keys are case and punctuation sensitive.

After entering the new information and clicking 'Apply', it should update the version in the upper right hand corner and notify you that the product has been registered.



_________________
Tech Support
support@notepage.com
http://www.notepage.net
Back to top
View user's profile
mwaters



Joined: 23 May 2013
Posts: 26

PostPosted: Wed Dec 04, 2019 2:19 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I have the registration all in there now and can send SMTP messages to my phone. What I am struggling with is getting messages out to a pager over TAP. I have an old V6 Page Gate server that works fine to TAP devices but when Iset the V8 machine the same way, I canot get the pages out. Basically the log files look like this...

========================================
12/4/2019 11:10:37 AM Start connection to carrier: DirectComm1
12/4/2019 11:10:37 AM Connect using TAP protocol
12/4/2019 11:10:37 AM Setting communication parameters (9600,e,7,1)
12/4/2019 11:10:37 AM Connected to carrier
12/4/2019 11:10:37 AM Waiting for protocol initialization
12/4/2019 11:10:37 AM Sent:<CR>
12/4/2019 11:10:39 AM Sent:<CR>
12/4/2019 11:10:42 AM Sent:<CR>
12/4/2019 11:10:46 AM Sent:<CR>
12/4/2019 11:10:54 AM ========================================
12/4/2019 11:10:54 AM Start connection to carrier: DirectComm1
12/4/2019 11:10:54 AM Connect using TAP protocol
12/4/2019 11:10:54 AM Setting communication parameters (9600,e,7,1)
12/4/2019 11:10:54 AM Connected to carrier
12/4/2019 11:10:54 AM Waiting for protocol initialization
12/4/2019 11:10:54 AM Sent:<CR>
12/4/2019 11:10:56 AM Sent:<CR>
12/4/2019 11:10:59 AM Sent:<CR>
12/4/2019 11:11:03 AM Sent:<CR>
12/4/2019 11:11:08 AM Carrier retry limit reached. Marking pending messages as bad
12/4/2019 11:11:08 AM FAILED Stn:0 To:1310026 Msg:aaaaaaaa


Back to top
View user's profile
Tech Support



Joined: 25 Aug 2003
Posts: 4218

PostPosted: Wed Dec 04, 2019 2:22 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Based on what I can see in the log, it looks like you're trying to establish a direct serial/RS-232 connection to a paging terminal.

To double check, what COM port is the RS-232 cable plugged in to on the new system? Alternately, if PageGate is running on a VM, what COM port is the virtual port assigned to?



_________________
Tech Support
support@notepage.com
http://www.notepage.net
Back to top
View user's profile
mwaters



Joined: 23 May 2013
Posts: 26

PostPosted: Wed Dec 04, 2019 2:24 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Yes, I am trying to connect directly to a paging system. I am using the very cable and COM port/CAT5 adapter from the working system.

On the new system, I am using the only available physical COM port (not a VM) so I assume this will be COM1 (also says so in Device Mangler)


Back to top
View user's profile
Tech Support



Joined: 25 Aug 2003
Posts: 4218

PostPosted: Wed Dec 04, 2019 2:46 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

The trouble you're running in to is that you're not receiving a response from the terminal to PageGate's communication attempts.

To double check, download a copy of putty (www.putty.org) and try to establish a serial connection on COM 1 at 9600 baud, even parity, 7 data bits and 1 stop bit.

After opening the connection, just hit enter on your keyboard as a carriage return is the initiating character in the TAP protocol. If the connection is good, the terminal should respond with ID=. If you get nothing in return, there's a break in the communication between the two systems.



_________________
Tech Support
support@notepage.com
http://www.notepage.net
Back to top
View user's profile
mwaters



Joined: 23 May 2013
Posts: 26

PostPosted: Wed Dec 04, 2019 3:08 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Putty won't open the COM port.... :(


Back to top
View user's profile
Tech Support



Joined: 25 Aug 2003
Posts: 4218

PostPosted: Wed Dec 04, 2019 3:10 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Ah, apologies, you'll need to shut down PageGate's connector so it stops holding on to the port:

1) Open PG Admin

2) Expand Connectors

3) Right click on the connector using the RS-232 connection, select stop.

Once the connector has stopped, Putty should be able to open the port.



_________________
Tech Support
support@notepage.com
http://www.notepage.net
Back to top
View user's profile
mwaters



Joined: 23 May 2013
Posts: 26

PostPosted: Wed Dec 04, 2019 3:14 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hmm, even after shutting down the connector and even disabling it, Putty still won't connect. Reboot??


Back to top
View user's profile
Tech Support



Joined: 25 Aug 2003
Posts: 4218

PostPosted: Wed Dec 04, 2019 3:15 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

That's a bit odd. Unless something else has the port open, Putty should be able to open it. Just to double check, try right clicking on the Connectors section and select 'Stop All' to stop all of the connectors, then try to open the port?



_________________
Tech Support
support@notepage.com
http://www.notepage.net
Back to top
View user's profile
mwaters



Joined: 23 May 2013
Posts: 26

PostPosted: Wed Dec 04, 2019 4:51 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

With all connectors stopped Putty still won't open COM1. I have run ProcessExplorer to try and see what is holding it open but it comes up empty. I have uninstalled/reinstalled the COM port, updated the BIOS and half a dozen other things but nothing is working. Server 2016 on an HP EliteDesk 800 computer. It sees two com ports, COM1 and COM3 (mapped as "Intel(R) Active Management Technology - SOL".
I have tried leaving the com ports at their default settings and even setting the ports to the settings that PG needs to use. So far, all to no avail.....


Back to top
View user's profile
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic    NotePage, Inc. Forum Index -> PageGate Support All times are GMT - 5 Hours
Goto page 1, 2  Next
Page 1 of 2

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2002 phpBB Group
Theme created by Vjacheslav Trushkin