NotePage, Inc. Forum Index

Unable to open com1. port in use or does not exist in notepa

 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    NotePage, Inc. Forum Index -> NotePager Pro Support
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
abeer



Joined: 02 Sep 2015
Posts: 7

PostPosted: Tue Sep 22, 2015 8:32 am    Post subject: Unable to open com1. port in use or does not exist in notepa Reply with quote

we connected modem to 2008 R2 server and from notepager pro software its giving this error message: unable to open com1. port in use or does not exist in notepager.

I tried to disable it then enable it from device manager but still the same.

Any advise regarding this?


Back to top
View user's profile
Tech Support



Joined: 25 Aug 2003
Posts: 4041

PostPosted: Tue Sep 22, 2015 8:34 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

If you go in to the Phone and Modem options in Windows, then go under the Modems tab, what devices are listed and what COM ports are they attached to?



_________________
Tech Support
support@notepage.com
http://www.notepage.net
Back to top
View user's profile
abeer



Joined: 02 Sep 2015
Posts: 7

PostPosted: Wed Sep 23, 2015 1:23 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Under modem tab, there is nothing its empty..
And I tried to add by search, but also after search the list is empty..

Any more help on this please.
Thanks,


Back to top
View user's profile
Tech Support



Joined: 25 Aug 2003
Posts: 4041

PostPosted: Wed Sep 23, 2015 7:42 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Ah, that would be why our software can't access the modem. If it isn't present in the Windows hardware list and has no COM port assigned to it, our software won't be able to access it.



_________________
Tech Support
support@notepage.com
http://www.notepage.net
Back to top
View user's profile
abeer



Joined: 02 Sep 2015
Posts: 7

PostPosted: Wed Sep 30, 2015 7:49 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

HI,

Under phone and modem, its showing : standard 9600 bps modem attached to com1..

But when am tring to test send messege, i found in the log this error: nable to open com1. port in use or does not exist in notepager.


Back to top
View user's profile
Tech Support



Joined: 25 Aug 2003
Posts: 4041

PostPosted: Wed Sep 30, 2015 7:54 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

In NotePager Pro go to: Tools->Modem Scan, and then hit the Scan button.
Which COM ports do you get check marks next to?



_________________
Tech Support
support@notepage.com
http://www.notepage.net
Back to top
View user's profile
abeer



Joined: 02 Sep 2015
Posts: 7

PostPosted: Wed Sep 30, 2015 7:58 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

none of them, and if ill do port scan, the check mark for port 80 and 444.
any idea please.


Back to top
View user's profile
Tech Support



Joined: 25 Aug 2003
Posts: 4041

PostPosted: Wed Sep 30, 2015 8:02 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Try going into your Windows Control Panel, then Administrative Tools, and then Services.

Is there a Fax service listed there? If so, is it running?



_________________
Tech Support
support@notepage.com
http://www.notepage.net
Back to top
View user's profile
abeer



Joined: 02 Sep 2015
Posts: 7

PostPosted: Wed Sep 30, 2015 8:06 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

The Fax service not listed.. by the way my windows 2008 R2.
Any idea ? thanks


Back to top
View user's profile
abeer



Joined: 02 Sep 2015
Posts: 7

PostPosted: Wed Sep 30, 2015 8:21 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Okay I installed Fax servise from server manager role, and I did scan modem but nothing selected.
same error in the log..!!


Back to top
View user's profile
Tech Support



Joined: 25 Aug 2003
Posts: 4041

PostPosted: Wed Sep 30, 2015 8:25 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I actually wanted to be sure the fax service wasn't running, as it can take control of the modem and not allow other applications to use it.

It looks as if you still don't have a modem setup/working in Windows.

What pager/phone carriers are you planning to deliver messages to? Some carriers don't accept messages via modem, and they have to be sent over the Internet instead.

It is possible that the modem issue may be moot.



_________________
Tech Support
support@notepage.com
http://www.notepage.net
Back to top
View user's profile
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic    NotePage, Inc. Forum Index -> NotePager Pro Support All times are GMT - 5 Hours
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2002 phpBB Group
Theme created by Vjacheslav Trushkin