NotePage, Inc. Forum Index

SMS failover not working
Goto page Previous  1, 2
 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    NotePage, Inc. Forum Index -> PageGate Support
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
Nicholas2185



Joined: 06 Oct 2014
Posts: 13
Location: Alford-Lincs-UK

PostPosted: Mon Oct 20, 2014 1:46 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Thanks for getting back to me.
Com1 - Putty says 'unable to open serial port' - this is the Tap connection.
Com4 - opens screen and AT gives OK.
Com6 - opens a screen but AT gives nothing, not even error.

Just used the port finder tool in Pagegate again and it now shows com4 and com6 in use, does not show com1 being used.
Pagegate seams to work ok but obviously something is amiss.

Thanks
Nick


Back to top
View user's profile
Tech Support



Joined: 25 Aug 2003
Posts: 4041

PostPosted: Mon Oct 20, 2014 1:51 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Based on that, it seems like COM4 is the port that has your cellular modem connected to it, so that's the port you would want to configure whichever connector should use the cellular modem to reference that port.



_________________
Tech Support
support@notepage.com
http://www.notepage.net
Back to top
View user's profile
Nicholas2185



Joined: 06 Oct 2014
Posts: 13
Location: Alford-Lincs-UK

PostPosted: Mon Oct 20, 2014 2:12 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Com4 is my O2 cellular modem on Connector1.
Com6 is my Tmobile cellular modem on Connector2.
These both send messages ok but Com6 on Putty is not giving correct response.
Should Pagegate be seeing the US Robotics modem on Com1?
Also still no pings from the connectors.

Thanks
Nick


Back to top
View user's profile
Tech Support



Joined: 25 Aug 2003
Posts: 4041

PostPosted: Mon Oct 20, 2014 2:20 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

If COM 6 isn't giving correct responses, it sounds like the T-Mobile cellular modem isn't responding and you may need to do some diagnostics on the hardware to determine why.

As for the US Robotics modem, it depends on whether or not anything else is accessing the port as to whether the port test will detect the device on the port. If nothing else is using it and you don't have Routing and Remote Access enabled in Windows, Pagegate should be detecting it, yes.

As for the log pings, if you go in to the PageGate admin and go to the Logging - Settings section, what do you have the Logging Level set to?



_________________
Tech Support
support@notepage.com
http://www.notepage.net
Back to top
View user's profile
Nicholas2185



Joined: 06 Oct 2014
Posts: 13
Location: Alford-Lincs-UK

PostPosted: Mon Oct 20, 2014 2:41 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Logging is set to DEBUG and I guess you are going to tell me thats wrong! lol
It gives option for Debug, Summary or Detail.
Thanks
Nick


Back to top
View user's profile
Tech Support



Joined: 25 Aug 2003
Posts: 4041

PostPosted: Mon Oct 20, 2014 2:46 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

No, Debug is right where the logs should be. It's... really, really strange that the logs aren't recording an hourly log ping for each of the components of the program that are enabled and running, though. I'll have to check with the dev team to find out what can prevent that from being recorded.



_________________
Tech Support
support@notepage.com
http://www.notepage.net
Back to top
View user's profile
Nicholas2185



Joined: 06 Oct 2014
Posts: 13
Location: Alford-Lincs-UK

PostPosted: Mon Oct 20, 2014 2:57 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

And it was a fresh install of Pagegate 6.0.16 onto the Windows 7 computer.

I'm using Pagegate connected to 2 caravan park alarm systems and the alarms are received and sent ok by Pagegate, its only been false alarms and tests so far!

Thanks
Nick


Back to top
View user's profile
Tech Support



Joined: 25 Aug 2003
Posts: 4041

PostPosted: Mon Oct 20, 2014 4:04 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Ah, I was incorrect. We didn't implement the hourly log pings for the connectors until version 7. Version 6's connectors won't have the hourly log ping, my bad.



_________________
Tech Support
support@notepage.com
http://www.notepage.net
Back to top
View user's profile
NotePage Sales
Site Admin


Joined: 23 Apr 2004
Posts: 265

PostPosted: Mon Oct 20, 2014 4:14 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

You can upgrade PageGate v6 to the latest v7 for $150.00 USD: http://www.notepage.net/pagegate-v7-whats-new.htm

When upgrading, please include your 4 or 5 digit Serial Number from the PG Admin's Registration Information screen.



_________________
NotePage Sales
Back to top
View user's profile Visit poster's website
Nicholas2185



Joined: 06 Oct 2014
Posts: 13
Location: Alford-Lincs-UK

PostPosted: Tue Oct 21, 2014 1:01 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

While on the XP computer something sent log pings.
Can't copy it at mo but something like...
10/10/14 00:00:44 Connector1 start detected
10/10/14 00:00:44 Connector2 start detected
10/10/14 00:41:04 Log ping...
10/10/14 01:41:04 Log ping...
repeated hourly until a message was sent at 09:04:18

Thanks
Nick


Back to top
View user's profile
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic    NotePage, Inc. Forum Index -> PageGate Support All times are GMT - 5 Hours
Goto page Previous  1, 2
Page 2 of 2

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2002 phpBB Group
Theme created by Vjacheslav Trushkin