NotePage, Inc. Forum Index

How set up Pagegate on a VM with Multitech MTCBA-G2-EN2?
Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3  Next
 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    NotePage, Inc. Forum Index -> Integration Related Questions
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
OzCom



Joined: 22 Oct 2003
Posts: 1087
Location: US

PostPosted: Wed Apr 24, 2013 8:22 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

It MAY be something as simple as a permission issue on your network - you said your test system worked fine. Does the current system use the same account/permissions? Was the Virtual COM port drive installed while logged as the local system administrator (not a user with ADMIN rights, but the actual built in local system administrator account)?



_________________
Aaron D. Osgood
Streamline Communications, LLC
* Authorized Notepage, Inc. Development Partner and Re-seller
TEL: 207-518-8455
AOsgood@streamline-solutions.net
Creators of AutoPage Spillman CAD interface for PageGate
Back to top
View user's profile Send e-mail Visit poster's website AIM Address Yahoo Messenger MSN Messenger
stefanIT



Joined: 18 Apr 2013
Posts: 21

PostPosted: Wed Apr 24, 2013 8:27 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Yes, same permissions, same account used, same OU/GPOs, same IP range and domain. No, I was only logged on with my own admin account (which is a member of local Administrators). I will try the following:

1) Remove the VSP from my test VM
2) Reboot the MTCBA
3) Add the VSP once the MTCBA has finished booting.
4) Log on as local Admin and try another PuTTY session to COM1.


Back to top
View user's profile
stefanIT



Joined: 18 Apr 2013
Posts: 21

PostPosted: Wed Apr 24, 2013 8:50 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

No dice: COM port hung again.


Back to top
View user's profile
OzCom



Joined: 22 Oct 2003
Posts: 1087
Location: US

PostPosted: Wed Apr 24, 2013 8:56 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

You wrote:
1) Remove the VSP from my test VM
2) Reboot the MTCBA
3) Add the VSP once the MTCBA has finished booting.
4) Log on as local Admin and try another PuTTY session to COM1.

I suggest:

1) Log in as LOCAL ADMIN
1) Remove the VSP from my test VM
2) Reboot the MTCBA
3) Add the VSP once the MTCBA has finished booting.
4) Try another PuTTY session to COM1.



_________________
Aaron D. Osgood
Streamline Communications, LLC
* Authorized Notepage, Inc. Development Partner and Re-seller
TEL: 207-518-8455
AOsgood@streamline-solutions.net
Creators of AutoPage Spillman CAD interface for PageGate
Back to top
View user's profile Send e-mail Visit poster's website AIM Address Yahoo Messenger MSN Messenger
stefanIT



Joined: 18 Apr 2013
Posts: 21

PostPosted: Wed Apr 24, 2013 8:58 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Sorry - can't remove the VSP whilst the VM is running. Do you know what the settings on the MTCBA should be? Is there something I haven't configured since I did a reset yesterday (see previous comment)?


Back to top
View user's profile
stefanIT



Joined: 18 Apr 2013
Posts: 21

PostPosted: Wed Apr 24, 2013 9:49 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Update: I can communicate with the MTCBA from PageGate over the VSP if "autodialout login" is enabled, but then it just keeps displaying the following:

24/04/2013 15:45:56 Setting communication parameters (115200,n,8,1)
24/04/2013 15:45:56 Attempting to reset modem
24/04/2013 15:45:56 Sent:AT<CR>
24/04/2013 15:45:59 Received:AT<CR><LF>Password:
24/04/2013 15:45:59 Attempting to reset modem
24/04/2013 15:45:59 Sent:AT<CR>
24/04/2013 15:46:02 Received:<CR><CR><LF>Invalid Login name (AT)<CR><CR><LF>Login:
24/04/2013 15:46:02 Attempting to reset modem
24/04/2013 15:46:02 Sent:AT<CR>
24/04/2013 15:46:05 Received:AT<CR><LF>Password:
24/04/2013 15:46:05 Attempting to hang up modem

How can I get around that?


Back to top
View user's profile
OzCom



Joined: 22 Oct 2003
Posts: 1087
Location: US

PostPosted: Wed Apr 24, 2013 10:04 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Well - that particular model device has been discontinued by MultiTech - BUT - you may have luck with this:
http://com0com.sourceforge.net/



_________________
Aaron D. Osgood
Streamline Communications, LLC
* Authorized Notepage, Inc. Development Partner and Re-seller
TEL: 207-518-8455
AOsgood@streamline-solutions.net
Creators of AutoPage Spillman CAD interface for PageGate
Back to top
View user's profile Send e-mail Visit poster's website AIM Address Yahoo Messenger MSN Messenger
OzCom



Joined: 22 Oct 2003
Posts: 1087
Location: US

PostPosted: Wed Apr 24, 2013 10:05 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

A commercial solution can be found here as well
http://www.tacticalsoftware.com/



_________________
Aaron D. Osgood
Streamline Communications, LLC
* Authorized Notepage, Inc. Development Partner and Re-seller
TEL: 207-518-8455
AOsgood@streamline-solutions.net
Creators of AutoPage Spillman CAD interface for PageGate
Back to top
View user's profile Send e-mail Visit poster's website AIM Address Yahoo Messenger MSN Messenger
stefanIT



Joined: 18 Apr 2013
Posts: 21

PostPosted: Wed Apr 24, 2013 10:12 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I have spent 100+ man hours and used three different gateways trying to get this to work. To say I'm gutted is an understatement. It seems I am the first person in history to try to set up in-house SMS alerting from a VM.


Back to top
View user's profile
OzCom



Joined: 22 Oct 2003
Posts: 1087
Location: US

PostPosted: Wed Apr 24, 2013 10:16 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I have many installations performing alerting with MultiTech modems and PageGate on VM - just not that model modem.



_________________
Aaron D. Osgood
Streamline Communications, LLC
* Authorized Notepage, Inc. Development Partner and Re-seller
TEL: 207-518-8455
AOsgood@streamline-solutions.net
Creators of AutoPage Spillman CAD interface for PageGate
Back to top
View user's profile Send e-mail Visit poster's website AIM Address Yahoo Messenger MSN Messenger
stefanIT



Joined: 18 Apr 2013
Posts: 21

PostPosted: Wed Apr 24, 2013 10:22 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I bought the MTCBA-G2 device based on this recommendation: http://www.notepage.net/forum/viewtopic.php?t=7569421&highlight=mtcbag2


Back to top
View user's profile
OzCom



Joined: 22 Oct 2003
Posts: 1087
Location: US

PostPosted: Wed Apr 24, 2013 10:28 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

This is the specific model I would have recommended (for European, GB, or Ireland):

MTCBA-G2-ED-EU or MTCBA-G2-ED-GB/IE

For US installation:

MTCBA-G2-NAM



_________________
Aaron D. Osgood
Streamline Communications, LLC
* Authorized Notepage, Inc. Development Partner and Re-seller
TEL: 207-518-8455
AOsgood@streamline-solutions.net
Creators of AutoPage Spillman CAD interface for PageGate
Back to top
View user's profile Send e-mail Visit poster's website AIM Address Yahoo Messenger MSN Messenger
stefanIT



Joined: 18 Apr 2013
Posts: 21

PostPosted: Thu Apr 25, 2013 2:55 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Could you (or someone) please post a list of configurations required on a working MTCBA model so I can at least compare it to what I've configured?


Back to top
View user's profile
OzCom



Joined: 22 Oct 2003
Posts: 1087
Location: US

PostPosted: Thu Apr 25, 2013 7:52 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

CARRIER (SMS_Modem):

Protocol: GSM-AT
Baud Rate: 115200
Parity: None
Data Bits: 8
Stop Bits: 1
Init String: AT+CSQ
Max Chars: 160

CONNECTOR(1)

Init String: blank
Dialing Prefix: blank
Dedicated Carrier: SMS_Modem
Serial Port: 2 (in my example)
Direct Connect: NOT checked

The MultiTech MTCBA device is factory default - this particular example is a GSM USB variant subscribed to T-Mobile



_________________
Aaron D. Osgood
Streamline Communications, LLC
* Authorized Notepage, Inc. Development Partner and Re-seller
TEL: 207-518-8455
AOsgood@streamline-solutions.net
Creators of AutoPage Spillman CAD interface for PageGate
Back to top
View user's profile Send e-mail Visit poster's website AIM Address Yahoo Messenger MSN Messenger
stefanIT



Joined: 18 Apr 2013
Posts: 21

PostPosted: Thu Apr 25, 2013 8:54 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Thanks. This started working as soon as I ditched the VMware VSP in favour of a 3rd party one.


Back to top
View user's profile
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic    NotePage, Inc. Forum Index -> Integration Related Questions All times are GMT - 5 Hours
Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3  Next
Page 2 of 3

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2002 phpBB Group
Theme created by Vjacheslav Trushkin