View previous topic :: View next topic |
Author |
Message |
jah6719
Joined: 24 Feb 2011 Posts: 12 Location: Michigan
|
Posted: Wed Jun 01, 2016 5:47 pm Post subject: Pagegate - Active911 + OSSI |
|
|
We just started using Active911 with OSSI / PageGate.
How do we get more than one line of dispatcher notes? We have the max character set to 2500. I've heard mixed responses from other agencies / dispatch centers that OSSI limits their paging server to 140 characters, but others have said the receive all of the dispatch info plus notes (well over 140 characters).
On a side note, what settings does it take to push out updated CAD notes to PageGate Active911 to update alarms?
We are using the GetAscii module and SMTP server to send out the data to Active911.
|
|
Back to top |
|
Tech Support
Joined: 25 Aug 2003 Posts: 4378
|
Posted: Thu Jun 02, 2016 8:26 am Post subject: |
|
|
While SMTP is a perfectly viable protocol, Active911 supports a far, far more efficient protocol (SNPP). So, the first thing I'd recommend is reconfiguring your method of delivery for Active911. Here's what you'll want to do:
1) Open the PG Admin.
2) Right click on Carriers, left click on Add.
3) Specify the following:
Name: Active911
Protocol: SNPP
Host: snpp.active911.com
Max Chars: 600
4) Click on Apply.
Then go through the settings of every Active911 recipient, change their "Carrier" field to Active911 and set the "Max Chars" field in each recipient to 600.
After applying that change, let me know if that helps with the cut-off of the text. |
|
Back to top |
|
jah6719
Joined: 24 Feb 2011 Posts: 12 Location: Michigan
|
Posted: Thu Jun 09, 2016 3:40 pm Post subject: Blank fields |
|
|
We are having issues with blank fields and the semi-colon separated data.
If the data is entered (fields populated) for all of the items we have selected to output we have no problems. However, we are running in to issues with Incident Number, Cross Streets, and even physical address being populated at the time the pagegate page is triggered.
If everything is entered we get data; data; data; etc (8 fields). If data is missing, it appears its not sending the blank fields. A lot of times we are sending out 4 or 5 fields.
Is it possible to get the blank fields to send out as a semi-colon space semi-colon (data; ; data; data; ; ; data;) to indicate a blank field? This way each field could be designated for a specific purpose. Active911 is having a hard time parsing our data by code as it's too inconsistent. If the first field is always field A, second field always field B (even if blank), etc. it would solve our problem. Unfortunately, it appears to be stripping out the blank fields.
We are using the GetAscii module to send out the data.
Thanks
|
|
Back to top |
|
Tech Support
Joined: 25 Aug 2003 Posts: 4378
|
Posted: Thu Jun 09, 2016 3:54 pm Post subject: |
|
|
It should be, though part of that depends on what you're reading in. You mentioned you were using the GetAscii module, are you using it to integrate with a CAD system? If so, which CAD? |
|
Back to top |
|
jah6719
Joined: 24 Feb 2011 Posts: 12 Location: Michigan
|
Posted: Thu Jun 09, 2016 4:08 pm Post subject: |
|
|
It's OSSI.
|
|
Back to top |
|
jah6719
Joined: 24 Feb 2011 Posts: 12 Location: Michigan
|
Posted: Thu Jun 09, 2016 4:23 pm Post subject: |
|
|
Is there a way to get / send out the fields names (CadPage Format) from OSSI via PageGate?
CALL: CAR CRASH
PLACE: Wendys
ADDR: 123 HUCKLEBERRY LN
CITY: BREMERTON
ID: Some identifier for this alarm (123456)
PRI: Internal priority level (HIGH, A, 123, etc)
DATE: CAD date (10/17/2012)
TIME: CAD time (13:45:06)
MAP: Map page or number: 123-456, Page 5, etc
UNIT: UNIT1, UNIT2, etc
INFO: Notes, data, other information
instead of the NATURE;ADDRESS;CITY;DETAILS we push out now?
|
|
Back to top |
|
Tech Support
Joined: 25 Aug 2003 Posts: 4378
|
Posted: Fri Jun 10, 2016 8:07 am Post subject: |
|
|
jah6719 wrote: |
Is there a way to get / send out the fields names (CadPage Format) from OSSI via PageGate?
CALL: CAR CRASH
PLACE: Wendys
ADDR: 123 HUCKLEBERRY LN
CITY: BREMERTON
ID: Some identifier for this alarm (123456)
PRI: Internal priority level (HIGH, A, 123, etc)
DATE: CAD date (10/17/2012)
TIME: CAD time (13:45:06)
MAP: Map page or number: 123-456, Page 5, etc
UNIT: UNIT1, UNIT2, etc
INFO: Notes, data, other information
instead of the NATURE;ADDRESS;CITY;DETAILS we push out now? |
You should be able to modify which fields are output but you would definitely want to talk to OSSI about that as PageGate simply parses and passes through what's output for it to read in. See if they can modify what the CAD system is outputting for us to read in.
So, now that we know you're using a static format, it really should just be a matter of determining the best parsing parameters to get the end format you want. To help with that, we'd like to see an example of the raw data from the CAD. So, if you would, run through these steps for us:
1) Open the PG Admin.
2) Expand the Interfaces section.
3) Right click on GetAscii, left click on Stop.
4) Have the CAD system output something to be read in.
5) Browse to the Polling or Advanced Polling location that the file is output to, then grab a copy of it and email it to support at notepage dot com with the subject "Pagegate - Active911 + OSSI"
6) Back in the PG Admin, right click on GetAscii, left click on Start. |
|
Back to top |
|
jameyw911
Joined: 19 May 2005 Posts: 6
|
Posted: Tue Dec 13, 2016 11:01 am Post subject: |
|
|
The fields that are sent are specified in the CAD administrative portion of the OSSI software. The fields are set under "Page Styles". Talk to the CAD system administrator, they should be able to help you.
|
|
Back to top |
|
jah6719
Joined: 24 Feb 2011 Posts: 12 Location: Michigan
|
Posted: Mon Dec 19, 2016 8:07 pm Post subject: |
|
|
@jameyw911
The output fields are set under page styles, but they are output as a semi-colon (;) separated fields xxxxx;xxxxx;xxxxxxx;xxxxxxx;xxxxxxx. We have change some of the settings to get the fields we want in certain orders. We are trying to get the field titles to export out with it, not just the field data.
We get 123 main; Gree; 16-12345; 1st; east; RE26 AL01
We WANT:
Address: 123 Main
City Code: Gree
Incident #: 16-12345
Cross Street 1: 1st
Cross Street 2: East
Units: RE26 AL01
The CAD admin doesn't know how to get what we want to export. PLEASE tell me it's possible and you could help us get it!
|
|
Back to top |
|
Tech Support
Joined: 25 Aug 2003 Posts: 4378
|
Posted: Fri Dec 23, 2016 11:23 am Post subject: |
|
|
Since you use GetAscii to read the data in, we could configure the program to replace all ; with a CRLF, so we could reformat the message from this:
123 main; Gree; 16-12345; 1st; east; RE26 AL01
to this:
123 main
Gree
16-12345
1st
east
RE26 AL01
but, unfortunately, we don't have a way of inserting the field titles before the values. |
|
Back to top |
|
jah6719
Joined: 24 Feb 2011 Posts: 12 Location: Michigan
|
Posted: Fri Dec 23, 2016 6:49 pm Post subject: |
|
|
@Tech Support
Thanks for the offer, but the current layout is fine if we can't get the field titles out of the CAD software.
|
|
Back to top |
|
|