NotePage, Inc. Forum Index

SMS failover not working
Goto page 1, 2  Next
 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    NotePage, Inc. Forum Index -> PageGate Support
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
Nicholas2185



Joined: 06 Oct 2014
Posts: 13
Location: Alford-Lincs-UK

PostPosted: Mon Oct 06, 2014 4:13 pm    Post subject: SMS failover not working Reply with quote

I have two connectors, one with Tmobile usb modem, the other with O2 usb modem. I can send messages using either of them by changing the default carrier of the recipient. My problem is that i want to use the O2 as a back up incase the Tmobile fails and it doesn't.
In the Tmobile carrier I've set the failover to O2 but all that happens is that it keeps cycling 'start connection to carrier' etc and just begins again.
Hope that makes sense to you.
Thanks


Back to top
View user's profile
Tech Support



Joined: 25 Aug 2003
Posts: 4041

PostPosted: Tue Oct 07, 2014 7:57 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

What version of the program are you using and on which operating system?

Also, if you would, please email a copy of the c:\PageGateData\Logs\*.log files from the PageGate Server to support at notepage dot com and give us an example of a date and time where the failover system failed to engage properly so we can take a look at things.



_________________
Tech Support
support@notepage.com
http://www.notepage.net
Back to top
View user's profile
Nicholas2185



Joined: 06 Oct 2014
Posts: 13
Location: Alford-Lincs-UK

PostPosted: Tue Oct 07, 2014 8:31 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

The operating system is XP and the version is 6.0.15 from memory! Not back at site until late tonight, will try to send log file then.
Another thing that happens is that when i search for used Com connections none are ticked but system is definitely working.
Thanks.


Back to top
View user's profile
NotePage Sales
Site Admin


Joined: 23 Apr 2004
Posts: 265

PostPosted: Tue Oct 07, 2014 9:24 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

PageGate version 6 can be upgraded to version 7 - especially if you update to a newer Windows operating system: http://www.notepage.net/pagegate-v7-whats-new.htm



_________________
NotePage Sales
Back to top
View user's profile Visit poster's website
Nicholas2185



Joined: 06 Oct 2014
Posts: 13
Location: Alford-Lincs-UK

PostPosted: Wed Oct 08, 2014 12:51 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

There are no 'pings' from either Connector but they both are able to send messages. When Connectors are searched for, to see which number they are on, none are found!
I am thinking of getting a new computer to run Pagegate.
Do you think it could be the computer thats the issue?
Thanks


Back to top
View user's profile
Tech Support



Joined: 25 Aug 2003
Posts: 4041

PostPosted: Wed Oct 08, 2014 1:03 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

It could be but just in case, let's have you update to 6.0.0.16 to see if that helps as the connectors should be performing internal timer/connectivity checks every hour and those checks should be recorded in the logs. Here's how to update:

1) Make a backup copy of the PageGate Database (pagegate.mdb) typically located in c:\PageGateData\Database\

2) Download the latest installation file for PageGate: http://www.notepage.net/download/pgv6.0.16.exe

3) Stop ALL PageGate programs and services. Make sure absolutely no part of PageGate is running.

4) Run the installation file downloaded in step 2.

5) Select "Install PageGate Server"

6) During the installation, make sure you install to the existing PageGate directory.

7) If it asks you to reboot, please do so.



_________________
Tech Support
support@notepage.com
http://www.notepage.net
Back to top
View user's profile
Nicholas2185



Joined: 06 Oct 2014
Posts: 13
Location: Alford-Lincs-UK

PostPosted: Wed Oct 08, 2014 1:56 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Trying on a Vista computer before I mess up the actual computer Pagegate needs to be on.
I've run .exe as Admin and when Pagegate opens its still 6.0.15.
Also, once I've installed how do I get the information back into Pagegate using the .mdb file?
Thanks


Back to top
View user's profile
Tech Support



Joined: 25 Aug 2003
Posts: 4041

PostPosted: Wed Oct 08, 2014 1:58 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

You should be able to just copy the c:\PageGateData\ folder to the same location on the new system and overwrite anything it asks about. That will transfer over all of the existing configuration (as well as logging information). Also, the Admin's executable version is still 6.0.0.15 but if you check the version of the pagegate.exe, it should be 6.0.0.16



_________________
Tech Support
support@notepage.com
http://www.notepage.net
Back to top
View user's profile
Nicholas2185



Joined: 06 Oct 2014
Posts: 13
Location: Alford-Lincs-UK

PostPosted: Wed Oct 08, 2014 3:44 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Got it back up and running but not made much difference, it now finds Com11 but no other Com in use.
Tmobile is on Com6 and O2 is on Com10 according to Device Manager.
Could it be due to the modems being usb dongles?
Thanks


Back to top
View user's profile
Tech Support



Joined: 25 Aug 2003
Posts: 4041

PostPosted: Wed Oct 08, 2014 4:09 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Ah, that sounds like the USB devices not properly declaring which port they're actually using, which is something I've seen before.

It may be a little tedious but the best thing to do would be to manually discover which ports the modems are using, rather than the ports they're telling the operating system they're using. If you use a program like Hyperterminal or Putty, go through each of the available COM ports on the system and issue the following two commands to them:

AT
AT+CSQ

The modem, if it's present on the port, should respond with "OK" and then give you a signal strength value in response to the second command.



_________________
Tech Support
support@notepage.com
http://www.notepage.net
Back to top
View user's profile
Nicholas2185



Joined: 06 Oct 2014
Posts: 13
Location: Alford-Lincs-UK

PostPosted: Wed Oct 08, 2014 4:19 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Thanks, I'll give that a go as soon as I can and post back here once I know.


Back to top
View user's profile
Nicholas2185



Joined: 06 Oct 2014
Posts: 13
Location: Alford-Lincs-UK

PostPosted: Thu Oct 09, 2014 8:44 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Used Putty and could not find the port!
Tried on laptop and found it using Putty ok.
I'm now thinking that its a compatibility problem with XP.
Unless you know of anything else i can try I'll upgrade computer.
Thanks


Back to top
View user's profile
Tech Support



Joined: 25 Aug 2003
Posts: 4041

PostPosted: Thu Oct 09, 2014 8:47 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I can't think of anything else you can try, that really does seem to be a compatibility issue between the device and the operating system.



_________________
Tech Support
support@notepage.com
http://www.notepage.net
Back to top
View user's profile
Nicholas2185



Joined: 06 Oct 2014
Posts: 13
Location: Alford-Lincs-UK

PostPosted: Sat Oct 18, 2014 10:17 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Now on a Windows 7 computer and its cured the fail safe problem but still no pings.
Pagegate does not find any modems when searched for either, Com1 is the serial for Tap, Com4 is O2 usb dongle and Com6 is Tmobile usb dongle.


Back to top
View user's profile
Tech Support



Joined: 25 Aug 2003
Posts: 4041

PostPosted: Mon Oct 20, 2014 5:14 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

On the new Windows 7 computer, using PuTTY, when you connect to COM1, COM4, and COM6, and type AT and then press ENTER, do you get 'OK' back as a response on any of those ports?



_________________
Tech Support
support@notepage.com
http://www.notepage.net
Back to top
View user's profile
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic    NotePage, Inc. Forum Index -> PageGate Support All times are GMT - 5 Hours
Goto page 1, 2  Next
Page 1 of 2

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2002 phpBB Group
Theme created by Vjacheslav Trushkin