NotePage, Inc. Forum Index

NotePager Pro "engine not running"
Goto page 1, 2  Next
 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    NotePage, Inc. Forum Index -> NotePager Pro Support
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
Joel Reimer



Joined: 02 Mar 2013
Posts: 8
Location: Kansas

PostPosted: Sat Mar 02, 2013 10:37 am    Post subject: NotePager Pro "engine not running" Reply with quote

I am getting the message "engine not running" when I start NotePagerPro. I tried reinstalling the software and still get the message. The icon I click on to run the program has the properties: "C:\Program Files\NotePager Pro\NPP.exe". I verified that the NPPDial.exe file is in the same directory. Any ideas?


Back to top
View user's profile
Tech Support



Joined: 25 Aug 2003
Posts: 4041

PostPosted: Mon Mar 04, 2013 8:28 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

It sounds like one of the DLL or OCX references that our program uses was broken. You'll need to reinstall the program but don't worry, this shouldn't have an effect on your data, just the program.

If you're using Windows XP, use these steps to reinstall:
http://www.notepage.net/videos/notepager-pro-installation.htm

If you're using Windows Vista, 7 or 8, use these steps:
http://www.notepage.net/videos/notepager-pro-vista-installation.htm



_________________
Tech Support
support@notepage.com
http://www.notepage.net
Back to top
View user's profile
Joel Reimer



Joined: 02 Mar 2013
Posts: 8
Location: Kansas

PostPosted: Mon Mar 04, 2013 11:52 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I already reinstalled the program once and it is still doing the same thing. Is there a list of DLL or OCX files I could look at to start narrowing this down?


Back to top
View user's profile
Tech Support



Joined: 25 Aug 2003
Posts: 4041

PostPosted: Mon Mar 04, 2013 11:54 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Joel,

What Operating System are you using?



_________________
Tech Support
support@notepage.com
http://www.notepage.net
Back to top
View user's profile
Joel Reimer



Joined: 02 Mar 2013
Posts: 8
Location: Kansas

PostPosted: Mon Mar 04, 2013 12:05 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Windows 7


Back to top
View user's profile
Tech Support



Joined: 25 Aug 2003
Posts: 4041

PostPosted: Mon Mar 04, 2013 12:10 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

On a few systems, I have seen the Windows Firewall decide (for some reason) after the fact to block the NotePager Pro Engine, which can cause the problem you're seeing. Go in to the Windows Firewall in the Control Panel and on the left hand side, click on Advanced Settings. Check the Outbound rules to see if NotePager Pro's Dialer Engine (nppdial.exe) is in the list and, if it is, that it's allowed access.



_________________
Tech Support
support@notepage.com
http://www.notepage.net
Back to top
View user's profile
Joel Reimer



Joined: 02 Mar 2013
Posts: 8
Location: Kansas

PostPosted: Mon Mar 04, 2013 12:22 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

There are not actual file names like that listed in the Outbound Rules directory - looks more like profiles and groups of actions. However I do not see anything related to Notepager Pro in there.


Back to top
View user's profile
Tech Support



Joined: 25 Aug 2003
Posts: 4041

PostPosted: Mon Mar 04, 2013 12:25 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Ah, my mistake. Check the Inbound rules for the Applications, not the outbound rules.



_________________
Tech Support
support@notepage.com
http://www.notepage.net
Back to top
View user's profile
Joel Reimer



Joined: 02 Mar 2013
Posts: 8
Location: Kansas

PostPosted: Mon Mar 04, 2013 12:30 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Don't see it listed in there either.


Back to top
View user's profile
Tech Support



Joined: 25 Aug 2003
Posts: 4041

PostPosted: Mon Mar 04, 2013 12:35 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Okay, try this:

1) When in the Inbound Rules section, left click on New Rule on the right hand side.

2) Select Program, click on Next.

3) Click on Browse, then locate the nppdial.exe

4) Click on Next.

5) Set it to "Allow the connection" and click on Next.

6) Click on Next.

7) Give it the name: NotePager Pro Engine

8) Click on Finish



_________________
Tech Support
support@notepage.com
http://www.notepage.net
Back to top
View user's profile
Joel Reimer



Joined: 02 Mar 2013
Posts: 8
Location: Kansas

PostPosted: Mon Mar 04, 2013 12:45 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

OK. I've done that and still get the same message on NotePager. Actually the firewall is not on. We are on a network and they must control that access through the network. Don't know if that matters or not - however we have been using the paging sytem for awhile several years and then last week it quit working.


Back to top
View user's profile
OzCom



Joined: 22 Oct 2003
Posts: 1087
Location: US

PostPosted: Mon Mar 04, 2013 1:14 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Try this: Make sure NotePager Pro is shut completely off. Now, RIGHT click on the icon and choose "Run AS Administrator"



_________________
Aaron D. Osgood
Streamline Communications, LLC
* Authorized Notepage, Inc. Development Partner and Re-seller
TEL: 207-518-8455
AOsgood@streamline-solutions.net
Creators of AutoPage Spillman CAD interface for PageGate
Back to top
View user's profile Send e-mail Visit poster's website AIM Address Yahoo Messenger MSN Messenger
Tech Support



Joined: 25 Aug 2003
Posts: 4041

PostPosted: Mon Mar 04, 2013 1:16 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

That was going to be my next suggestion. The strange thing is that you mentioned that this was working fine and then suddenly stopped last week. Do you know what might have changed on the system? If you didn't change anything in NotePager Pro and even went through the reinstall to verify that all appropriate OCX and DLL's were in place, there may be an external factor preventing the Engine from running. For example, if you're running McAffee or Symantec and updated it last week, you may need to specifically authorize the program to run.



_________________
Tech Support
support@notepage.com
http://www.notepage.net
Back to top
View user's profile
Joel Reimer



Joined: 02 Mar 2013
Posts: 8
Location: Kansas

PostPosted: Mon Mar 04, 2013 1:28 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

OK. Let me do some further investigation woth our IT people to see if anything like that might have happened. The other unusual thing is that we have NotePager licensed on 4 different computers here which are all on the same support/network etc. and the other 3 programs are functioning fine. So it must be something on this computer. I'll look into it more and get back with you if there is something else I need help with.


Back to top
View user's profile
OzCom



Joined: 22 Oct 2003
Posts: 1087
Location: US

PostPosted: Mon Mar 04, 2013 1:33 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

NPP on 4 machines on the same network? PLEASE tell me you are not all trying to message from the same database :-)

If so - you will need to move to the PageGate version - this was designed as a network solution



_________________
Aaron D. Osgood
Streamline Communications, LLC
* Authorized Notepage, Inc. Development Partner and Re-seller
TEL: 207-518-8455
AOsgood@streamline-solutions.net
Creators of AutoPage Spillman CAD interface for PageGate
Back to top
View user's profile Send e-mail Visit poster's website AIM Address Yahoo Messenger MSN Messenger
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic    NotePage, Inc. Forum Index -> NotePager Pro Support All times are GMT - 5 Hours
Goto page 1, 2  Next
Page 1 of 2

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2002 phpBB Group
Theme created by Vjacheslav Trushkin