NotePage, Inc. Forum Index

Moving notepagerPro to a different computer.

 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    NotePage, Inc. Forum Index -> NotePager Pro Support
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
beretdude



Joined: 23 Sep 2004
Posts: 17

PostPosted: Mon Jul 25, 2011 4:25 pm    Post subject: Moving notepagerPro to a different computer. Reply with quote

I realize when I first purchased NotePagerPro, that it wasn't for multiple computers, but what do I need to do to remove it from a computer that I am trashing, to my new computer? I mean, what specific files? It will be leaving an old Win98 and coming to Win7 with 64bit.


Back to top
View user's profile
Tech Support



Joined: 25 Aug 2003
Posts: 4041

PostPosted: Mon Jul 25, 2011 4:40 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

The only file that you need to transfer is the npp.mdb file from the old system. The file is located in the NotePager Pro program folder.

Follow these steps to install on Windows 7 (32 and 64-bit):
http://www.notepage.net/videos/notepager-pro-vista-installation.htm

Then copy the npp.mdb in to the new program directory and you're done.



_________________
Tech Support
support@notepage.com
http://www.notepage.net
Back to top
View user's profile
beretdude



Joined: 23 Sep 2004
Posts: 17

PostPosted: Mon Jul 25, 2011 4:51 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Thank you. You were very fast with your reply and I do appreciate that very much. I suppose I should have asked you about this other problem instead of sending to support, but on the chance you may know... I downloaded the program onto this computer and now as soon as I try to start the program, I am stopped with a Fatal Error: [b]Error #6 Overflow in Procedure:isfile[/b]


Back to top
View user's profile
Tech Support



Joined: 25 Aug 2003
Posts: 4041

PostPosted: Mon Jul 25, 2011 4:52 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

That's odd. Did you follow the instructions at the link? That should have authorized the program through Windows 7's User Accounts Control. Try right clicking on the shortcut and left clicking on the "Run As Administrator" option to authorize the program through the UAC.



_________________
Tech Support
support@notepage.com
http://www.notepage.net
Back to top
View user's profile
beretdude



Joined: 23 Sep 2004
Posts: 17

PostPosted: Mon Jul 25, 2011 5:03 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Yes, I did follow the exact download and install instructions. I just now removed it from my computer and reinstalled it once again, and am still getting the same error message: ERROR #6 OVERFLOW IN PROCEDURE: ISFILE


Back to top
View user's profile
beretdude



Joined: 23 Sep 2004
Posts: 17

PostPosted: Mon Jul 25, 2011 5:08 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Ok..Ok... ya got me.. I did just now right click on the shortcut and can open via the administrator.


Thank you very much for your help. Hopefully when I grab that other file from my older computer npp.mdb , I won't get the nag screen about registering?


Back to top
View user's profile
Tech Support



Joined: 25 Aug 2003
Posts: 4041

PostPosted: Mon Jul 25, 2011 5:13 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Maybe. It depends on whether or not your registration information is currently contained in the database. If it is, you won't be prompted. If it isn't, you will.



_________________
Tech Support
support@notepage.com
http://www.notepage.net
Back to top
View user's profile
beretdude



Joined: 23 Sep 2004
Posts: 17

PostPosted: Wed Jul 27, 2011 7:59 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Ok, I transferred the file and have all of my previous lists now showing, and the nag screen has disappeared, so thank you very much for that. Now, hopefully last question. I think since I last used notepager (over 6 years), some carrier numbers must have changed. My smart phone is a Verizon Droid... suppose I want to set up a test connection to send myself a text message. What do I choose for a carrier and what protocol? I do appreciate all of your help.

The Dude.


Back to top
View user's profile
Tech Support



Joined: 25 Aug 2003
Posts: 4041

PostPosted: Thu Jul 28, 2011 8:02 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Are you going to be delivering your messages by modem and phone line or by internet?



_________________
Tech Support
support@notepage.com
http://www.notepage.net
Back to top
View user's profile
beretdude



Joined: 23 Sep 2004
Posts: 17

PostPosted: Thu Jul 28, 2011 3:23 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I would prefer to use internet if possible?


Back to top
View user's profile
Tech Support



Joined: 25 Aug 2003
Posts: 4041

PostPosted: Thu Jul 28, 2011 3:29 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Okay, before we do the internet based configuration, there's a test I'd like you to run:

1) In Windows, go to Start - Run.

2) In the Run line, type the following and click OK: command

3) Type the following and hit enter:

telnet smtp-bb.vtext.com 25

Let me know what the response code is, please.



_________________
Tech Support
support@notepage.com
http://www.notepage.net
Back to top
View user's profile
beretdude



Joined: 23 Sep 2004
Posts: 17

PostPosted: Thu Jul 28, 2011 3:41 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Ok, what I get back is: 'telnet' is not recognized as an internal or external command, operable program or batch file.


Back to top
View user's profile
Tech Support



Joined: 25 Aug 2003
Posts: 4041

PostPosted: Thu Jul 28, 2011 3:48 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Ah, that must mean you're using Windows 7 or Windows Vista. Here's what you'll want to do:

1) Go in to the Control Panel in Windows.

2) Go in to Programs and Features.

3) On the left hand side, click on "Turn a Windows Feature on or off"

4) Scroll down through the list and put a check next to "Telnet Client"

5) Click on Install.

After it finishes installing the telnet client, then run the previous test.



_________________
Tech Support
support@notepage.com
http://www.notepage.net
Back to top
View user's profile
beretdude



Joined: 23 Sep 2004
Posts: 17

PostPosted: Thu Jul 28, 2011 6:25 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I'm sorry, but I am not going to be an easy help.. My own fault for letting myself get old. lol....
I AM running Ultimate Vista 64 bit and when I did what you said above, I found nothing at all regarding telnet. Sorry.


Back to top
View user's profile
Tech Support



Joined: 25 Aug 2003
Posts: 4041

PostPosted: Fri Jul 29, 2011 8:13 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

If you wouldn't mind, can you email your contact information to support at notepage dot com? It might be easier to go over this off-forum.



_________________
Tech Support
support@notepage.com
http://www.notepage.net
Back to top
View user's profile
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic    NotePage, Inc. Forum Index -> NotePager Pro Support All times are GMT - 5 Hours
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2002 phpBB Group
Theme created by Vjacheslav Trushkin