View previous topic :: View next topic |
Author |
Message |
jroot
Joined: 01 Apr 2010 Posts: 6
|
Posted: Thu Apr 01, 2010 5:01 pm Post subject: GetASCII Message Lookup Table |
|
|
We are trying to use the Lookup Table in GetAscii, Settings, Advanced Polling, Messages to change several message line prefixs to a space or some other character. The Lookup Table doesn't seem to have any effect for the message body but works fine for Recipients. Example:
Our file from our software package looks like this -
[Header]
Count=1
ID=1
[Subscriber1]
SubscriberName=Medic 222
[Message]
Line1=222*
Line2=Test Call*
Line3=TEST CALL*
Line4=TEST CALL*
We were able to get GetAscii to send the message to the recipient medic_222 by setting a lookup for Medic 222 as the Data In and medic_222 for the Data out. The message body of the page looked like:
Line1=222*Line2=Test Call*Line3=TEST CALL*Line4=TEST CALL*
We tried to get rid of the Line1= through Line4= by creating a Lookup Table with Line1= as the Data In and several other characters for the Data Out. Nothing seemed to work and the message body would still contain the Line1= through Line4= content. It should look like:
222*Test Call*TEST CALL*TEST CALL*
Any ideas? Also, we are still in Eval mode.
Thanks,
Jim
|
|
Back to top |
|
Tech Support
Joined: 25 Aug 2003 Posts: 4382
|
Posted: Fri Apr 02, 2010 10:22 am Post subject: |
|
|
In your example message, are the asterisks part of the actual printed body of the message as it appears in your text files? |
|
Back to top |
|
jroot
Joined: 01 Apr 2010 Posts: 6
|
Posted: Fri Apr 02, 2010 10:22 am Post subject: |
|
|
Yes, they are.
|
|
Back to top |
|
Tech Support
Joined: 25 Aug 2003 Posts: 4382
|
Posted: Fri Apr 02, 2010 10:38 am Post subject: |
|
|
Here's what you'll need to do:
Go to the Interfaces - GetAscii - Settings - Advanced Polling section and set this:
Symbols:
Single Character: ?
Multiple Character: |
End of Record: ~
Ascii Value: \
Record:
Start Patern: |
Start Offset: 0
End Pattern: ~
End Offset: 0
Recipient:
Start Pattern: SubscriberName=
Start Offset: 15
End Pattern: [Message]
End Offset: -10
Sender:
Static Sender: PageGate (or whatever you please)
Message:
Start Pattern: Line1=
Start Offset: 6
End Pattern: ~
End Offset: 0
Use the lookup table and for the data in, use |Line1=|, |Line2=|, |Line3=|, etc and for the data out, use nothing. That way the Line1= and so forth won't actually show up in the body of the message. |
|
Back to top |
|
jroot
Joined: 01 Apr 2010 Posts: 6
|
Posted: Fri Apr 02, 2010 11:24 am Post subject: |
|
|
Same results except Line1= is gone because of the offset, a good idea by the way. It seems like the Lookup Table isn't parsing out the text. I tried it like this |Line2=| and like this Line2= and neither changed the output.
I just got our key and installed it and that did not have any affect (didn't think it would).
Jim
|
|
Back to top |
|
Tech Support
Joined: 25 Aug 2003 Posts: 4382
|
Posted: Fri Apr 02, 2010 11:26 am Post subject: |
|
|
That's odd. I've worked with this specific filetype and format before and those are the settings that have worked in the past. If you would, please email me an example of the file to support at notepage dot com so I can make sure I haven't overlooked anything simple. |
|
Back to top |
|
jroot
Joined: 01 Apr 2010 Posts: 6
|
Posted: Fri Apr 02, 2010 12:52 pm Post subject: |
|
|
I thought you might recognize it. I sent you the ascii file and several screen shots to support. Maybe I'm missing something but all the other functionality seems to be there. The Lookup Table for the recipient is working fine.
Jim
|
|
Back to top |
|
jroot
Joined: 01 Apr 2010 Posts: 6
|
Posted: Fri Apr 02, 2010 1:01 pm Post subject: |
|
|
I just sent up a screen shot of every configuration screen for Advanced Polling including the Lookup Table for Message. Thanks,
Jim
|
|
Back to top |
|
OzCom
Joined: 22 Oct 2003 Posts: 1122 Location: US
|
Posted: Fri Apr 02, 2010 2:25 pm Post subject: |
|
|
Is DROP NON PRINTABLE checked in the recipient?_________________ Aaron D. Osgood
Streamline Communications, LLC
* Authorized Notepage, Inc. Development Partner and Re-seller
TEL: 207-518-8455
AOsgood@streamline-solutions.net
Creators of AutoPage Spillman CAD interface for PageGate |
|
Back to top |
|
jroot
Joined: 01 Apr 2010 Posts: 6
|
Posted: Fri Apr 02, 2010 2:46 pm Post subject: |
|
|
Aaron,
Yes it is, thanks.
Tech Support,
The solution you sent by email worked worked! To share with everybody:
---Start Tech Support Response---
You need change the Multiple Character Wildcard in the Symbols section from * to |
Replace the Start Pattern in the Record with: |
Also, in the Message Lookup Table, it will need to be:
Data In Data Out
|Line1=|
|Line2=|
etc
---End Tech Support Response---
Case closed and many thanks,
Jim
|
|
Back to top |
|
|